Google updates Hindi keyboard, adding 10 more Indian languages

Google has updated its Hindi Keyboard adding 10 more Indian languages and renaming the keyboard to Google Indic keyboard. You can use Indic keyboard to type text messages, update social networks, and compose emails in your native language.

Aside from Hindi, the 10 new languages that has been added are – Assamese, Bengali, Gujarati, Kannada, Malayalam, Marathi, Odia, Punjabi, Tamil, and Telugu.

In addition to the addition of 10 more native languages, Google has added four new modes to the Indic Keyboard to give you new options for typing your native language easily.

Transliteration mode, which allows you to type by spelling out the pronunciation in English characters, for example type Punjabi – ਪੰਜਾਬੀ.

With Native keyboard mode, you can type directly in your native language. While with Handwiriting mode, you can write directly on your screen, though currently available for Hindi only. Hinglish mode (only for Hindi language as well) suggests you both English and Hinglish terms to type quickly.

Set Google Indic Keyboard as default keyboard:

For Android 5.x and above

  • Go to Settings -> then Language & Input
  • Under Keyboard & Input Methods, go to Current Keyboard
  • Tap Choose Keyboards -> then select Google Indic Keyboard
  • Then go back to Language & Input -> tap Current Keyboard -> then select English & Indic Languages (Google Indic Keyboard)

For Android 4.x

  • Open Settings -> then Language & Input -> under Keyboard & Input Methods
  • Select Google Indic Keyboard -> then click Default
  • Under Choose Input Method dialog -> select Google Indic Keyboard
  • You can simply change the default input method by selecting Choose Input Method under Notification area

You can download Google Indic Keyboard from Play Store.

Support for more native Indian languages would really be helpful for country’s mobile users in typing local languages easily on Android. Apple has done the same with iOS 9 by adding support for more Indian languages such as Punjabi.

  • Comments
comments powered by Disqus