Here is how the Facebook “dislike” button looks like

Last month, during Facebook’s town hall, Mark Zuckerberg announced that Facebook is really close to testing the dislike button, and seems today is the day Facebook starts testing the said button. This feature is called “Reactions”, which composes total of six emoji that appear along side the Like button. These buttons are Love – to express love obviously, Haha – for laughter, Yay – for happiness, Wow – for surprise, Sad – to express sadness, and Angry – for anger.

As reported by TechCrunch, Facebook will be testing the feature in Spain and Ireland to decide if there are any changes that need to be made before the official roll out.

Facebook Reactions Preview

If you are using Facebook on your mobile phone, these reactions will appear when you tap the Like button on your screen. On desktop, they will come up when you hover over or click the Like button.

As reported previously, Facebook is adding these buttons for people to express other feelings such as gratitude, or empathy, during a sad moment, where the Like button is not appropriate to use. This would give people more freedom to express themselves digitally.

Functionality similar to this was initially added by Slack. Which lets people select any emoji that they want to use as a response to the post. But with Facebook, it uses a set of predefined emoji.

Additionally, this would help Facebook to collect much rich information with regard to people’s reactions on posts they see in their News Feed, and do other things like display better ads based on the collected information.

Tagged In
  • Comments
comments powered by Disqus